Nobody hates me – that is the problem!

John 15:19 reads:

“If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.”

Trouble is, to the best of my knowledge, the world doesn’t hate me. Most people I know seem to like me – either that or they do a quality job of pretending to anyway. Anyone who doesn’t like me, or even hates me, certainly doesn’t feel that way because I am a Christian, I’m quite sure of that!

If the world could see that I am ‘sold out’ for Christ, I think they would feel more than a little uncomfortable around me. But am I totally ‘sold out’? I suspect I am yet another closet-dwelling Christian, doing a very good job of keeping my light under a bowl.

So this raises an interesting question… why? Why am I reluctant to ‘let my little light shine’?
The simple truth? I’m scared. I am petrified that I’ll be mocked, laughed at and abused. Like an Amway rep, I’ll be despised for trying to convert my friends, family, colleagues and neighbours. And THAT, will make my life altogether too uncomfortable. Because you see, I like comfort.

Now, whenever Evangelism pops up in conversation, the thoughts of St. Francis of Assissi are often shared… “Preach the gospel at all times; if necessary, use words.” Now don’t get me wrong, I like the sentiment – it echoes Christ’s point that we will be known as His disciples if we love one another, not necessarily if we preach all the time.
However, I feel this has become somewhat of a crutch – a method of parrying away the suggestion that we ought to actively share our faith. Passive witnessing is great – what we do tells a lot more than what we say… especially if we say NOTHING!

Writing this fires me up – it gets my wheels spinning.
I hope it fires you up to. We serve a great God… we do!! We are more than conquerors! We have the promises of God, promises of His strength, His wisdom, His protection, His love, His unswerving support – but we’re just sitting here on our hands, hoping the lost and unsaved will stumble on the truth of God’s salvation all by themselves. Look at the person nearest you – do they know God? No? So, introduce them!

The bible is positively littered with God’s promises! And they are just that… promises! We really have to question whether or not we believe them though, if we do not use them as launchpads to propel us into action.

This nation is full to brimming with people who are hopelessly lost; hurting people with broken hearts. God searches the earth, looking for willing workers to gather the harvest…

People may laugh, mock and abuse me. But this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine!
God has asked me to share Him with the world, given me gifts and abilities to do so, promised me His love, support, strength and protection! So here is a radical thought – I’m gonna do exactly as He asks!

Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “Nobody hates me – that is the problem!

  1. Yes, but. Let’s not be ashamed of the gospel, as Paul writes, for it is the good news for the world. But let’s be careful our words aren’t hollow either. One of the quickest accusations made against Christians is that we’re hypocrites – we say one thing, do another. People hate us for that, you know. The cross is a stumbling block for the Jews and foolishness for the Greeks – and people will misunderstand and abuse us for preaching Christ crucified and risen again. But our preaching, our conversations, should always be matched by our actions. It is not enough for me to say we should give money to the poor, visit the sick and care for the widow and orphan if I don’t do any of those things. Recall Matthew 25. People may call God ‘Lord, Lord’ and he will respond that he never knew them, why ‘because what you did for the least of my brethren, you did for me’. As that song title puts it, it’s “more than words” – it’s how we live our lives that will draw people to the giver of Life.

Leave a Reply

